The Pride of Workmanship Awards was launched in June, 1975 to encourage a much needed pride in personal performance in the workplace and to create a national attitude for the benefit of our country.

Les Whitcroft, of the Rotary Club of Ryde, produced the first plaques which introduced the now familiar slogan, “Do it once, Do it well. Build a better Australia” and which is still in use today. Many of these yellow plaques with blue lettering are displayed in shops, offices and factories across the country.

The Rotary Club of Pennant Hills followed up with the establishment of an annual Awards presentation evening and also introduced the marketing of trophies and plaques as a Rotary fundraising project which was recognised by Rotary International.

The program has now been adopted by more than 600 Rotary Clubs in Australia, New Zealand, the South Pacific, Malaysia, Canada and the United States, with Clubs in other countries showing interest in introducing Pride of Workmanship programs.


The objectives of the program are:

  • To promote Vocational Service.
  • To encourage pride of workmanship in all vocations.
  • To provide employers with an opportunity to recognise employees who display those qualities which are worthy of an award.
  • To encourage favourable employer/employee relationships and a sense of community pride in individual achievement.
  • To provide an opportunity for Rotary to be involved in the community, particularly the business community.

The scope and variety of awards has been expanded since the origin of Pride of Workmanship and now includes –

  • Community Service Awards
  • Small Business Awards
  • Vocational Excellence Awards
  • Australia Day Awards
  • Environmental Excellence Awards
  • Apprentice of the Year Awards
  • Customer Service Awards
  • Youth Encouragement Awards

“Do it once, Do it well. Build a better Australia”

Nominations for our 2023 pride of Workmanship Awards close on 14th April, 2023. A nomination form is available through the link below

Click HERE to download a 2023 PoW nomination form.